CORDIAL MINUET ENSEMBLE

??????

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-12-12 00:04:01

sssetz

New player here and some thoughts

Hello everyone, (and Jason)

Just played my first two games, as well as watched the intro video by Jason. I am just getting grips with the game and what the heck I am even trying to do. It seems a little hard to me right now what kind of strategies to try and imply. I understand I am extremely new to the game and strategies always begin to show themselves over time. Right now I am feeling kind of stuck though.

It seems like I dont have much choice in my score?? I mean I understand that I ultimately make the choice of which column I pick but I'm having a hard time figuring out what to really do and what kind of advanced moves I can do. Anyway, I am hoping I am not coming off totally negative cause I am honestly just trying to figure out and talk with the rest of you all about this interesting game.

When I was attempting to first play Diamond Trust and Castle Doctrine I could kind of instantly see that there were going to be lots of advanced techniques in the future. Right now I am just having a hard time understanding what I can "really" do affect the outcome of the game.

Best,
Seth

#2 2014-12-12 01:49:35

jere

Re: New player here and some thoughts

There are a few tricks to it, but generally the name of the game is reading your opponent's mind. If you can predict with any likelihood what they will pick, you can easily get a high score and give them a low one. And even if you don't get a high score, there's the betting game. Do not underestimate the betting game. It's huge. You can bluff yourself out of a bad situation, use cognitive biases to get your opponent to sink in more money than they should, and avoid losing money in most cases.