CORDIAL MINUET ENSEMBLE

??????

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-12-24 01:19:09

bitsnbytes

Security Concerns

First and foremost, let me say that I find this game extremely interesting. If the legality of a game like this holds up I think it could really become something.

That said, as the game concerns movement of money, I'm particularly sensitive to security. I'm a software developer so I apologize if some of this is overly technical.

First, let me describe my experience signing up for the game. I create a new account by providing my credit card information. I'm then provided with a generated "key" to log into my account. Finally, the plaintext key is emailed to me for "safe keeping."

Additionally, in another post, Jason notes that "Well, the client NEVER sends out the account key.  It assumes that someone is listening on the wire at all times (so it's safe to play over coffee shop wifi)."[1]

My worry is that the idea that the client never sends out the account key and the fact that I received an email with the plaintext account key don't seem to add up. Either the server is generating the key and then sending the HMAC'd key along with the plaintext key to the client (it displays the plaintext key after registration) or the key is generated on the client and then _must_ be sent via plaintext to the server because I receive it in plaintext via email. Also, HMAC'ing on the client seems impossible because the signing secret needs to be somewhere that is not controlled by the user.

Finally, I find it greatly worrying that I have no way of rotating or changing my key as it is essentially my password that can be used to access any funds I've deposited in the game.